Murder most foul in Jamaica and elsewhere. Incomprehensible forgiveness by God. That’s why we love that man from Galillee

GM: One of my spiritual mentors, the late Bishop Herman Spence once said to me that ‘ sleep is a little death’. And as I spent some time in my devotions this morning in a hymn, whose words popped up into my mind, I understood why he was of that view. Each one of will find a glorious and reassuring, and even instructive Word from this wonderful hymn. But for me, verse two, which highlights the newness of each….new sins forgiven… new mercies hovering… new thoughts of God, and verse three which encourages us to ” hallow ” everything we find…. see God in the midst of it.. were my favourites.
New every morning is the love
New every morning is the love
our wakening and uprising prove;
through sleep and darkness safely brought,
restored to life and power and thought.
New mercies, each returning day,
hover around us while we pray;
new perils past, new sins forgiven,
new thoughts of God, new hopes of heaven.
If on our daily course our mind
be set to hallow all we find,
new treasures still, of countless price,
God will provide for sacrifice.
Old friends, old scenes, will lovelier be,
as more of heaven in each we see;
some softening gleam of love and prayer
shall dawn on every cross and care.
The trivial round, the common task,
will furnish all we ought to ask:
room to deny ourselves; a road
to bring us daily nearer God.
Only, O Lord, in thy dear love,
fit us for perfect rest above;
and help us, this and every day,
to live more nearly as we pray.
Words: John Keble, 1822
Then we move from giving thanks in songs, to giving thanks in prayer; the first of my early morning prayers, this picture of sleep being a ‘ little death’, becomes complete. And so we spend the rest of the day in thanksgiving, regardless of what happens.
A MORNING WATCH
Jacob Boheme
Verse: 2 Chronicles 7:14
ON WAKING
Living Lord, you have watched over me, and put your hand on my head, during the long, dark hours of night.
Your Holy angels have protected me from all harm and pain. To you, Lord, I owe life itself. Continue to watch over me and bless me during the hours of day.
This past week we have seen and heard of people, Jamaica people who have experienced more than a ‘ little death’. Their lives have been brutally snuffed out and the families and a nation mourn.
But this is no simple matter that can be fixed with more police flooding the place, together with welcomed offers of assistance from the US.
Last night, in the dead of night, from which I would rise, thank God, to experience anew the love of God, I was led to a challenging Word from Ezekiel. Again!
A Word for the entire nation, for most of us are God-fearing people who know the Bible, to a certain extent. And know what the Lord requires of us. To love the Lord our God with all our heart, and to love our neighbors as ourselves.
For bloodshed follows bloodshed in this land because we have turned away from the Living God, inside and outside the church. In how we obey God and love our neighbors.
And so the Lord calls us back, through His Word to Repent, and experience with Him in and through Christ Jesus and His Atoning death on Calvary.
Otherwise more than a ‘ little death’ will rule to rule this country and from which tragedy there is no other remedy but repentance.
http://bible.com/111/ezk.2.1-10.niv He said to me, “Son of man, stand up on your feet and I will speak to you.” As he spoke, the Spirit came into me and raised me to my feet, and I heard him speaking to me. He said: “Son of man, I am sending you to the Israelites, to a rebellious nation that has rebelled against me; they and their ancestors have been in revolt against me to this very day. The people to whom I am sending you are obstinate and stubborn. Say to them, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says.’ And whether they listen or fail to listen—for they are a rebellious people—they will know that a prophet has been among them. And you, son of man, do not be afraid of them or their words. Do not be afraid, though briers and thorns are all around you and you live among scorpions. Do not be afraid of what they say or be terrified by them, though they are a rebellious people. You must speak my words to them, whether they listen or fail to listen, for they are rebellious. But you, son of man, listen to what I say to you. Do not rebel like that rebellious people; open your mouth and eat what I give you.” Then I looked, and I saw a hand stretched out to me. In it was a scroll, which he unrolled before me. On both sides of it were written words of lament and mourning and woe.

Leave a Reply

