The Pope arrives in Cuba; Murder lives on in Jamaica; Jesus continues to seek the heart of all mankind

I read my Bible to see what men ought to do; and read my newspapers to see what men are doing.

Lord renew thy church beginning with me; Lord renew the church that the church may renew the nation(s)

NEWS

1. The #1 problem that disturbed my soul this week was the revelation on local television #TVJ @televisionjam that over 800 persons have been murdered in my country so far this year. And later the Police Commissioner in a press conference called to launch the ” Get the Guns” campaign, spoke of the horrifying statistic that over 10,00 persons had been murdered in Jamaica in the past ten years! This is really not news, to most of us, so I don’t know why at this time it shocked me. but it certainly did/ to the extent that I posted the following comment on FaceBook, which attracted a lot of attention.

“I am still trying to wrap my head around over 800 people murdered for this year so far as announced on TVJ last night. Suppose we were to line them up side by side on Washington Boulevard, would the entire country come to a halt? Why then is there not a great outcry! Have mercy on us Lord as we have sinned greatly as a people.”

Illegal guns claim 10,300 lives over last 10 years

image

Illegal guns claim 10,300 lives over last 10 years
With the gun being the weapon of choice in the killing of 10,300 Jamaicans over the 10-year period 2005 to 2015, the Police High Command yesterday la…
View on jamaica-gleaner.com
Preview by Yahoo

2. The other bit of news which caught my attention – on CNN – was the arrival of the Pope in that country. And the enthusiasm with which the Roman Catholic Pontiff was welcome by the head of a Communist party Raul Castro. He has also been reported to have declared that ‘if the Pope continues like this – assisting the detente between Cuba and the USA – he would go back to attending church and saying prayers. What a revelation!

Pope Francis, Arriving in Cuba, Seeks to Revive Church

image

Pope Francis, Arriving in Cuba, Seeks to Revive Church
Francis arrived in Havana on Saturday for the first stop of a nine-day papal trip that includes the United States. The first Latin American pope must now try …
View on http://www.nytimes.com
Preview by Yahoo

3. Finally both the Republican debate and the plight of the refugees vied for my attention as news this week. How the one will affect the other will no doubt play out in due course as we continue to follow both stories. Suffice it to say that the world is changing quickly, and if the GOP wishes to remain relevant, in both the USA and he wider world community, it will necessarily have to rethink some of it’s hard positions on immigration. And climate change, especially with a popular Pontiff taking on ‘political issues’ without fear.

THE WORD OF GOD.

so what Word or inspired word did the Lord send this week in the midst of my angst over the amount of people dying ‘every day’ in my country; the excitement of change in Cuba, our nearest neighbour, and American politics heating up.
Always, always, words from hymns and other inspired writings which provide an alternate to the narrative written for the world by CNN et al. Thus bringing hope to a cynical world, a Biblical perspective to world and national affairs, and a challenge to ‘let go and let God’. Always!

THE FIRST MESSAGE – sent out on WhatsaApp….speaks about the benefits of waiting. And waiting confidently on God’s timing. For inevitably when we leave god out of the picture,as we have done in Jamaica in recent times, hurrying to rectify every perceived social wrong, as is the case with Obama in the USA, then inevitably trouble comes. And sometimes very quickly!

GM: Thank you Jesus. Why? This message is ‘ tailor made’ for me in particular. All about patience and waiting on the Lord. For a reason!
However this morning, it also struck me, that this ‘ running ahead of God’ and worse, paying ‘ lip service’ to God, while ignoring Him completely in how we govern, and how we conduct our politics, has not just personal, but national implications. For who know what calamities have overtaken Jamaica and the USA, even though we hear the words ‘ God bless America’ and ‘ God bless Jamaica’ very often. But God knows.
So back to the story.
This summer, as usual, my wife and I went up to Miami to ‘ see the kids’. And after the now – formerly we would head for the mall before even going home – accustomed habit of spending time with the grandchildren first, I headed for the nearest Barnes and Nobles to find a good book to read.
On Friday night, having read a part of it in Miami, and returned home for close to two weeks, my eyes alighted, in a almost compelling manner, seriously, on Charles Swindoll’s ‘ Abraham: One Nomad’s Amazing Journey of Faith.
So I picked it up and began to read. And out of the first chapter I read came yesterday’s message, at least in part.
Last evening then, while waiting to play Kalooki, we play every Saturday night, and thank God having been ‘ delivered’ from going into depression whenever Serena loses, I was able read the next chapter in peace. And thanked God for what He chose to teach me at this point in my life.
Swindoll had now arrived at the point where Sarai, Abram’s wife, decided, having waited on the Lord for the Promised son, to take matters ‘ into her own hands’. Remember when Abram did the same thing earlier on, and rather than tell the truth, falsely declared to the Pharaoh’s officials , that Sarai was His ‘ sister’. Well to ‘ cut a long story short’, Hegar, now Sarai’s servant, was one of the ‘ gifts’ Abram received from the Pharoah, in the hope that Sarai, would become his wife. ( And a faithful God rescued them)

So now, further ‘mischief’, is about to take place ; as the same Hegar is now ‘ offered’ to Abram, so that he may have ‘ sexual relations’ with her and produce the Promised heir. Well, Swindoll’s description of what follows in the ‘ Queen’s English ‘ does not do justice to the scenario. As we in Jamaica would say ‘ hell and powderhouse let loose’. For the pregnant servant now begins to ‘ Dis’ her Mistress; who then complains to Abram. At at the end of the day, the very pregnant Hegar is banished into the wilderness. Alone! Until God in His mercy rescues her through an angel.
There is a lot more to this story. Including the awesome reality, that, a man, and a couple, who were accustomed to speaking with The Sovereign God regularly, then inexplicably, without consulting Him, without Prayer, decided to make such an important decision. But more anon. Perhaps! Who knows.
For now, however, we return to a section in the book, entitled, ‘ Running Ahead’.
……Abram and Sarai tried to rush God, attempting to get the Lord on their timetable, but they did not receive their blessing for another fourteen long years. Our running ahead does not pressure God to hurry His agenda.
When we try to coerce the Lord into giving us what we want, when we want it, He responds, in effect, ” You’re not ready. This blessing isn’t good for you right now. You have so much more to learn…..do trust Me. And don’t expect Me to explain Myself “.
…..WaIting is difficult, and you want progress, so the great temptation when the Lord doesn’t appear to be doing anything is to get things going yourself…… If that describes you ( or if it doesn’t now, it will soon!) I have a four-letter word for you: wait. That word forms an acrostic of four imperatives that you may find helpful.

1. (W)alk a little slower. When you feel the need to hurry God along or to make something happen to advance God’s agenda for your life, apply the brakes. It’s time to slow your pace, step away from the situation, and devote yourself to a time of solitude and prayer – and perhaps even fasting.

2. (A)sk God for increased patience, wisdom and self-control. No doubt you have already prayed for this, but the very fact that you’re agitated and itching for action says that need to continue asking. Your best decisions occur when you spirit is calm, when confidence in God’s sovereign control has displaced your worry, when you’re tuned in to the gentle promoting of the Holy Spirit.

3. (I)magine the worst-case scenario that might happen if you waited. When a situation truly demands action, this question can bring good ideas to the surface. Most often however the answer is disappointedly dull. In the case of Abram and Sarai, the worst possible outcome for waiting on pregnancy was more of the status quo.

4. (T)hink of others who will be impacted by your decision ( Including the Lord.. my words). Running ahead of God’s timing always causes collateral damage. You hurt yourself, which is bad enough. But you also cause harm to innocent bystanders…. Moving your family for the wrong reasons…. choosing to marry for the wrong reasons….
……The discipline of delay is written large in the life of God’s people, as we could observe in Abraham’s long waiting for the Son of promise
……it is usually in waiting that God does His best work in us. In that crucible of frustrated longings, the Holy Spirit confronts our darkest lusts, our most selfish cravings, bringing them out if the shadows and then releasing us from slavery to hidden idols.

When we are forced to wait, the Lord helps us to acquire an appetite for the blessing to come. Meanwhile, He builds our maturity so that when the fulfilment finally arrives, we are prepared to enjoy His blessing to the fullest.
Comment: As I wrote the final few words, especially about waiting facilitates our ‘ release from slavery to hidden idols’, the very epitome of what Sin does, words from a wonderful hymn come to mind.
‘ I delivered you when bound’. A line from another of my favorite hymns.

Hymn written by William Cowper

Hark, my soul! It is the Lord,
‘Tis thy Saviour, hear His word;
Jesus speaks, and speaks to thee –
“Say, poor sinner, lov’st thou Me?

“I delivered thee when bound,
And when wounded, healed thy wound;
Sought thee wand’ring, set thee right,
Turned thy darkness into light.

“Can a woman’s tender care
Cease towards the child she bare?
Yes, she may forgetful be,
Yet will I remember thee.

“Mine is an unchanging love,
Higher than the heights above;
Deeper than the depths beneath,
Free and faithful, strong as death.

“Thou shalt see My glory soon,
When the work of grace is done,
Partner of My throne shalt be;
Say, poor sinner, lov’st thou Me?”

Lord, it is my chief complaint
That my love is weak and faint;
Yet I love Thee, and adore,
Oh, for grace to love Thee more!
O God, O for grace to wait upon you, to ‘ walk with you’, and not run ahead. In Jesus Name. Amen.

THE SECOND MESSAGE…..again on WhatsApp features a report of the experience of my church in an inner city where God’s love and mercy are desperately needed. As is the case all over the world, even though persons do not accept it. Our role as Christians then is to spend the gift of life given to us by God to help others understand and experience God’s love. In Cuba, in the USA, in Syria, and in Europe

GM: Words from our Internationally acclaimed recording artiste Etana’s #WrongAddress, came into my mind this morning.
‘ We don’t want no trouble: lady where you come from, people die there everyday’. And in that very disturbing, yet inspiring video, a young woman is denied an opportunity, denied access to a job, because she lives in a place like Majesty Gardens.
A story which could describe much of what takes place in the ghettos, the inner cities of the USA, and which experience is so hauntingly heard in Candi Staton’s classic ‘ In the Ghetto’. Where on a cold a grey Chicago morning a child is born, and his mamma cries.

Last Sunday my Church, St. Andrew Parish Church celebrated 50 years of Mission in Majesty Gardens; located in the heart of our capital’s, Kingston, infamous inner cities. Where despite the harsh and brutish conditions where people live; where garbage is collected monthly, if they are fortunate; where young girls are routinely impregnated by age 14-15; where everyone has a relative who had been murdered or is in prison, some of the most beautiful children of God reside. And rise up out of ‘ back to’, neglected by society, and become useful citizens.
These things, these images, kept on playing in my mind as I listened to a challenging sermon by the Anglican Bishop of Kingston, Robert Thompson and former Rector of our Church. Two things, among many, in particular stuck in my mind as he posed the same question, posed by Christ to His disciples 2000 years ago.

‘ Who do you say I am’? In other words, what is Christianity all about?
1. It’s not about ‘ what is in it for me’.
2. Life is a gift, that we must spend and not keep.

Then yesterday, as I opened my Bible, Isaiah 5, ‘stared at me’. And in particular the verses 1-7. You cannot read verse 7 and escape the profound commentary, and warning about the consequences which follow in the rest of the chapter, on how as a society we have neglected the poor and the powerless. Not just society, but those Christians who are guided by ‘ what is in it for me’, and do not understand that new life has been given to us, by The Resurrection of Christ, as a gift. So that we may spend and not keep!
Serve others, and not seek to fulfil our own desires. In other words, ‘ take up our Cross daily, and follow Christ.
Otherwise Isaiah’s prophetic words may condemn us Christians. And not just some politicians, who will have much to answer to God on the day of Judgement.

The Word of God…. abbreviated . Isaiah 5:1-7

I will sing for the one I love
a song about his vineyard:
My loved one had a vineyard
on a fertile hillside.
He dug it up and cleared it of stones
and planted it with choicest vines.
…….
Then he looked for a crop of good grapes,
but it yielded only bad fruit.
Now you dwellers in Jerusalem and men of Judah,
judge between me and my vineyard.
What more could have been done for my vineyard
than I have done for it?
…..
Now I tell you what I am going to do to my vineyard:
I will take away it’s hedge, and it will be destroyed…..
The vineyard of the Lord Almighty
is the house of Israel,
and the men of Judah
are the garden of his delight.
And he looked for justice,
but saw bloodshed,
for righteousness,
but heard cries of distress.

The reality is that ‘ The Church, the body of Christ’, bought with His precious Blood, is the present-day ‘ vineyard of the Lord. Why then is the Lord Almighty hearing ‘ cries of distress’, in places like Majesty Gardens. And ‘ bloodshed’ in Tivoli Gardens! When He expects to see Justice and Righteousness.

My friends these are serious questions posed by the Word of God, and Etana, and Bishop Thompson, as we ponder on the state of Jamaica, and what is Christianity all about. Getting something from God, or following Christ to Calvary.

Finally as we ponder on what is described as Incarnational theology, how we can represent God to others, rather than be focused on our own needs, words of a hymn came into my mind this morning.
The first and fifth verses say it all.

Thou didst leave thy crown and thy kingly crown,
When thou camest to earth for me;
But in Bethlehem’s home was there found no room
For thy holy Nativity:
O come to my heart, Lord Jesus;
There is room in my heart for thee.

Thou camest, O Lord, with the living word
That should set thy people free;
But with moving scorn and a crown of thorn
They bore thee to Calvary
O come to my heart Lord Jesus
There is room in my heart for thee.

In the name of Jesus, who gave up His life, freely; so that we might have new life, and spend it on others.
Amen

THE THIRD MESSAGE … again on WhatsApp is a ‘surprise message ‘ with an emphasis on spiritual growth. For immature Christians cannot manage the kind of spiritual warfare needed to ‘ rescue the perishing and care for the dying’ in this world filled with evil. Which is manifest in Jamaica, in Syria and other parts of the world.

GM: This is not supposed to happen this morning, or so I thought, as I have to leave very early today.
But, but, last night on retiring to bed, following a lovely lively discussion at Bible Study on ‘ worship forms’, and Jesus’ call to ‘ worship God in Spirit and in truth – with our whole heart –
this song came into my mind.
The Hymn
1
I’m pressing on the upward way,
New heights I’m gaining every day;
Still praying as I onward bound,
“Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.”
Lord, lift me up, and let me stand
By faith on Canaan’s tableland;
A higher plane than I have found,
Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.
2
My heart has no desire to stay
Where doubts arise and fears dismay;
Though some may dwell where these abound,
My prayer, my aim, is higher ground.
3
I want to live above the world,
Though Satan’s darts at me are hurled;
For faith has caught the joyful sound,
The song of saints on higher ground.
4
I want to scale the utmost height
And catch a gleam of glory bright;
But still I’ll pray till rest I’ve found,
“Lord, lead me on to higher ground.”
As I began my devotions with these words this morning, immediately, like very immediately, I recalled reading a mediation, several times, on this matter of ‘ higher ground’.
The question is truly whether or not we are ‘ gaining new heights ever day,’
or just very comfortable to remain at the same level. Is the day really coming as Jesus prophesied, when we will worship Him with our whole heart, regardless of what denomination or what worship form we use at Church.
Let’s listen to what Tozer, one of the great Bible teachers, had to say from way back in the early part of this century.
And it is not just a theoretical discussion, for if we as Christians, are going to ‘ set the captives free’, and ‘ give sight to the blind’, search for the lost, bind up the wounded and ‘ bring back the stray’, and fight against evil powers, we really have to ‘ plant our feet on higher around’. And ‘ pant after God’.
PANTING AFTER GOD.
A.W. Tozer ( 1897-1963)
Verse: Psalm 42:1
As the deer pants for streams of water,
so my soul pants for you, O God.
Within the hearts of a growing number of Evangelicals in recent days, has risen a new yearning after an above average spiritual experience.
Yet the greater number of still shy away from it and raise objections that evidence misunderstanding or fear or plain unbelief. They point to the neurotic, the psychotic, the pseudo-Christian cultist and intemperate fanatic, and lump them all together without discrimination as followers of the ‘ deeper life’.
While that is of course completely preposterous, the fact that such confusion exists obliges those who advocate the Spirit-filled life to define their terms and explain their position. Just what , then, do we mean? What are we advocating?
For myself, I am reverently concerned that I teach nothing but Christ crucified. For me to accept teaching or even an emphasis, I must be persuaded that it is scriptural and altogether apostolic in spirit and in temper. And it must be in full harmony with the best in the historic church and in the tradition marked by the finest devotional works, the sweetest and most radiant hymnody and the loftiest experience revealed in Christian biography.
To speak of the ‘ deeper life’ is……to insist that believers explore the depth of the Christian evangel for those riches it surely contains but which we are surely missing. The ‘ deeper life ‘ is deeper only because the average Christian life is tragically shallow….
O Lord, I pray that you would plant all our feet, help us to pant after you, on higher ground. Not seeking any personal reward, but so that we may, in you, help to ‘ set the captives free’, from Sin, and Death. From injustice and unrighteousness. Amen

THE FOURTH MESSAGE …again sent on whatsApp, takes us back to the constant call from God for us to ” Be Still, Be obedient, be trusting” and along Him the Sovereign God to exert his mighty Power on this world. For those who do not believe are constantly in frenzied activity trying to find solutions for Sin, and its effects on the world. And there is none save and except the ‘shed Blood of Jesus Christ”. And His mighty Resurrection by the Power of the Holy Spirit. Who is the same Spirit who empowers us to do the work of God in this world. And who ‘quieted the soul of a slave ship owner, and made him to be a blessing to so many

Wednesday night, as I was preparing for bed and praying a bedtime prayer, one of three written years ago by Jacob Boheme, part of which says:

‘ Guide me to find my rightful place and in your creation, that in some small way I may add to the beauty of your handiwork’ :

the words of the hymn below came flooding into my mind. And I spent some time praying and meditating on the first two verses in particular.

THE HYMN

Breathe on me, breath of God,
Fill me with life anew,
That I may love what Thou dost love,
And do what Thou wouldst do.

Breathe on me, breath of God,
Until my heart is pure,
Until with Thee I will one will,
To do and to endure.

Breathe on me, breath of God,
Blend all my soul with Thine,
Until this earthly part of me
Glows with Thy fire divine.

Breathe on me, breath of God,
So shall I never die,
But live with Thee the perfect life
Of Thine eternity.

Then yesterday I awoke, for very good reasons, with ‘ Be still and know that I am God’ in my head. A most haunting and arresting hymn; in the sense that it leaves no room to wonder what the Lord is saying. Be still. Quiet your troubled soul, for I am the One who healeth, and I am the One whom you can trust.
And, ‘ trust me’, as we in #Jamaicalandwelove like to say, there are many trials and troubles around to disturb out souls. Financial issues, relationship issues, workplace issues, health issues, security issues – I am still trying to ‘ wrap my head around over 800 people murdered in my country so far this year as reported on national television tonight #mindboggling – and International issues, as I watched the Republican Party Debate on CNN last night #DonaldTrumpIllegalMigrantsareRapists.
‘ Be Still’, then, really got deep in my soul, and I asked the Lord to forgive me for not trusting Him all the time, and allowing worry to provoke my soul. For as we read the Word of God further down in this message, The Blood of Jesus opens a new way into the very Presence of God, and therefore we have no reason or excuse not to trust the God of Abraham who is a miracle working God. But first and foremost, we must ‘ pant after Him’, seek Him first with all our heart, and allow Him to ‘ breathe on us’ the mighty transforming Power of His Holy Spirit. So that we may ‘ rescue the perishing’ and ‘ care for the dying’, and ‘ set captives free from Injustice, Sin, Death’ and all suffering under the evil power of Satan. For if we seek for personal advancement and the satisfaction of our pleasures first, then that is proof that ‘ our hearts need to be still and know who God is’.
The One who in Christ Jesus, suffered and died, so that we may be set free from self-centeredness, selfishness, and from enthroning idols on our hearts, the very essence of Sin, which ultimately leads to death. But thank God for the Resurrection of Christ, for in Him, we have Life anew and Life abundantly. To spend on behalf of others and to the Glory of God.

THE HYMN

Be still and know that I am God,
be still and know that I am God,
be still and know that I am God.

I am the Lord that healeth thee,
I am the Lord that healeth thee,
I am the Lord that healeth thee.

In thee, O Lord, I put my trust,
In thee, O Lord, I put my trust,
In thee, O Lord, I put my trust.

Finally, and trust me, by myself, I would not have recalled it, the Lord reminded me of very special meditation, which has been a great source of encouragement in some of the most challenging times in my life.
I share it with you in the hope that you too will remember your ‘ Ebenezer’ moment – thus far has the Lord carried me – with thanksgiving.

BE STILL, MY HEART!
John Newton ( 1725 – 1807 a former slave ship owner turned Christian, in a dramatic experience during storm, is the author of ‘ Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound’

THE WORD OF GOD

Verse Hebrews 10:22 expanded

Therefore, brothers and sisters, since we have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way opened for us through the curtain, that is, his body, and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water.

Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

THE REFLECTION

Be still my heart! these anxious cares
To thee are burdens, thorns and snares;
They cast dishonor on the Lord,
And contradict hid gracious word

Brought safely by His hand thus far,
Why wilt thou now give place to fear!
How canst thou want if he provide,
Or lose thy way with such a guide.

When first before his mercy sear
Thou didst to him thine all commit,
He gave thee warrant from that hour
To trust his wisdom, love and power.

Did ever trouble yet befall,
And he refuse to hear thy call?
And has he not his promise passed,
That thou shalt overcome at last?

He who had helped you hitherto
Will help me all my journey through,
And give me daily cause to raise
New Ebenezers to his praise.

Though rough and thorny be the road,
It leads thee on, apace to God,
Then count thy present trials small,
For God will make amends for all

As I close this wonderful assurance of the faithfulness of a loving God, BTC’s
‘ How many times must I show you how much I love you’ comes into mind. Forgive us Lord, as we have loved you, but not enough, trusted you, but not completely. So breathe on us O breath of God, that so empowered, we may truly love what thou dost love, and do what thou wouldst do.
In Jesus’ precious Name we pray.

THE FINAL MESSAGE …again on whatsapp. A word of wisdom to the wise to entertain and the words of a wonderful hymn on which to meditate.

GM: Did you know that man was created to be immortal, and it is because of the devil why death intervened. That’s what the Old Testament lesson for this Sunday , an extended readings, reveals.

THE WORD OF GOD

http://bible.com/546/wis.2.23-24.KJVA For God created man to be immortal, and made him to be an image of his own eternity. Nevertheless through envy of the devil came death into the world: and they that do hold of his side do find it.

Two points to note. Or one really! Despite all the conventions, even at the highest level at the UN, the think tanks, the weight of jurisprudence across the world, the many well trained advisers, the high quality research which often informs policy decisions, ultimately true Wisdom comes only from God. The Creator of Heaven and Earth; the Sea and all that is in it.
And therefore our deep angst, and terrible shame and disgust, frustration even, at the level of Crime and Violence in our nation – over 800 murdered to date for this year, and over 10,000 in the past 10 years – and our inability, collectively, to make a significant and lasting difference, tells us, or ought to, that we desperately need the Wisdom of God. To solve this and many other intractable social, political, economic and moral, with which we have struggled unsuccessfully over the past 50 years as an Independent Nation!
The other and related point is that, those who ignore the Wisdom of God,
and ‘ hold of the side of the devil’ are essentially ‘ embracing death’; whether they accept it or not. With profound consequences for a nation!

Another day I will share with you of the ‘ wisdom’ that the life of Abraham offers, about which I read last night in Charles Swindoll’s ‘ Abraham: One Nomad’s Amazing Journey of Faith.

Until then, reflect with me, on the words of a hymn which flooded into my mind as I awoke this morning. And before I read the passage from the Wisdom of Solomon, found in the Apocrypha – a seldom read part of the Bible in my church. For me, ‘ among other things’, inter alia, as the lawyers write, the ‘ new thoughts of God’ resonated with my soul. For in Him resides all Wisdom as revealed in the Life, Death, Resurrection and Ascension of His Son Christ Jesus.

THE HYMN

New every morning is the love
our wakening and uprising prove;
through sleep and darkness safely brought,
restored to life and power and thought.

New mercies, each returning day,
hover around us while we pray;
new perils past, new sins forgiven,
new thoughts of God, new hopes of heaven.

If on our daily course our mind
be set to hallow all we find,
new treasures still, of countless price,
God will provide for sacrifice

The trivial round, the common task,
will furnish all we ought to ask:
room to deny ourselves; a road
to bring us daily nearer God.

Only, O Lord, in thy dear love,
fit us for perfect rest above;
and help us, this and every day,
to live more nearly as we pray.
Words: John Keble, 1822

I pray God that in the midst of this Crisis of Bloodshed in our land, we may, each new day, more and more, seek the Wisdom of God in and through Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

