Mother’s Day, Hope and Calvary

GM: THE LINK BETWEEN MOTHER’S DAY, HOPE AND CALVARY

It had happened before. And yesterday also. A realization of the Cosmic importance of the last sentence in Jacob Boheme’s Morning Watch:

“Above all,  remind me  constantly
that I have nothing except what you give me, and I can do nothing except what you enable me to do.” 

Perhaps, who knows,  that’s why the words of this very touching hymn came into my mind on  this blustery May morning:

I am weak, but Thou art strong;
Jesus, keep me from all wrong;
I’ll be satisfied as long
As I walk, let me walk close to Thee.
Refrain

Just a closer walk with Thee,
Grant it, Jesus, is my plea,
Daily walking close to Thee,
Let it be, dear Lord, let it be.

Through this world of toil and snares,
If I falter, Lord, who cares?
Who with me my burden shares?
None but Thee, dear Lord, none but Thee.

Refrain

And as I read the line ” If I falter, Lord, who cares”, two thoughts entered my mind:  my mother, and tomorrow is Mother’s day; and a verse and reflection about Hope yesterday which triggered a couple of tweets on Twitter.

So what’s the link with all of this and  Jacob Boheme’s prayer line, the essence of which is  captured by the last verse of a wonderful Communion hymn,  which I use as a prayer almost every Sunday morning in preparation for Holy Communion?

1. Here,  O my Lord, I see thee face to face;
here faith would touch and handle things unseen;
here grasp with firmer hand the eternal grace,
and all my weariness upon thee lean

3. I have no other help but thine; nor do I need
another arm save thine to lean upon:
it is enough , my Lord, enough indeed,
my strength is in thy might, thy might indeed

It’s all about the Hope which  the child of God has, and about which Peter encourages us to share with others.

” Always be ready to make your defense to anyone who demands from you the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and reverence. ” I Peter 3:15

And in my country and certainly in the USA,  the level of violence in both, and the threat, and reality,  of violence from terrorists, in one, is greatly affecting the hope for the future of our countries.

Two things which happened this week  validates this observation.
In my country, Fae Ellington is a household name. Among many other notable achievements,  she is a highly respected media practitioner. So when CNN,  in response to the killing of the two missionaries last week, attempted to label Jamaica a violent place, she tweeted, back @cnn,  and essentially’ begged to differ’; using a quote from her Pastor, Rev. Astor Carlyle.

The result of which, using Twitter language, was that the tweet began to ‘trend’; being  retweeted over 500 times and up to yesterday, when we spoke,  had been seen by over 43,000 thousand persons worldwide.

Not everyone agreed with her! In fact many questioned why someone of her stature could posit such ‘ foolishness’. For in their view Jamaica is a thoroughly violent country. But the debate was well and truly joined, as many responded in agreement.

The other was the riveting CNN special, #We’vegothim which was repeated several times,  on the killing of Osama Bin Laden’s by US seals, on the anniversary of that dramatic event. With the chilling reminder for all the  wannabes,  that ‘ the last face that he Bin Laden,  saw before leaving this earth,  was that of an American’ ! #POTUS.

Both of these happenings, for me, captured the sentiments of a deeply troubled people; in Jamaicalandwelove and in the USA

And inspired by Chris Tiegreen’s reflection on the Word from Peter I tweeted.

For most  people an absence of hope means too much expectations this #temporallife has to offer and not #eternallife

Check out @lucienforJesus’s Tweet: https://twitter.com/lucienforJesus/status/728556198522327040?s=09

Check out @lucienforJesus’s Tweet: https://twitter.com/lucienforJesus/status/728555283883024384?s=09

For ultimately, Hope comes from trusting in a God who can ‘ raise the dead’, and Who only can and has defeated Evil and Death and Sin on Calvary. So there is no power that depress the soul and spirit of anyone who trusts completely in that God. As He alone, through the gift of The Holy Spirit can impart that Hope, and the Love which He calls us to have for our neighbors.

Be he or her, Republican or Democrat ( yes even, and perhaps especially Donald Trump we are called to love)! A member of the JLP or PNP! Muslim or Christian! Straight or Gay!  Martin Luther’s Dream, black, white, yellow….all of God’s children… and stop abusing them. For Jesus loved them all and died for us all on Calvary.

This is why I always remember my very special and wonderful mother ( my very special father also). For it was she who introduced me to Jesus. It was my mother, and I have vivid memories of sitting in her lap, who read to me from then,  the separate  Gospel  books, ‘according to Mark’, and Matthew…

My dad went around doing good to all and sundry, but it was my teacher mother who taught me that ‘ if I falter’, she cared. But more importantly, Jesus cares. There were others along the way, like my mentor of blessed memory, Bishop Herman Spence. But it all began with my blessed petite – size four shoes – soft spoken ( never heard her quarrel with my dad) beautiful, inside and outside, mother.

And so for all those who ‘ mothered’ by leading others to Christ, by Word and by deed, and who have ‘ mothered’ by doing good on Twitter ( Hi Emma)  Facebook, in the Community, in the home, in the school, in the Church, and gave someone Hope, happy mother’s day tomorrow.

And who knows perhaps the Lord will hear our prayers and have mercy on Jamaica and America, and send ‘ times of refreshing’ on our countries.

For when ‘ we falter He cares’.  Far more than any mother can.  And He had shown us this on Calvary! That’s the ultimate reason for our Hope. For we are weak, but He is strong!
Peace

Leave a Reply

