The Foundations of Sustainable  Values and Attitudes in any Country

​EARLY MORNING REJOICING WITH CHRIST EVEN IN THE FACE OF EVIL AND DEATH 
Praying that America will be spared from evil next Tuesday. 

Going to a funeral this morning; a friend was killed four months ago and then his wife died suddenly a couple weeks ago.

 Reflecting on the sudden death of a teacher yesterday in the town where I work; and how much young #NicholasFrancis’ death and the X6MurderTrial continue to cause so much pain in my country.

And preaching tomorrow on ” One generation shall commend thy works to another.”. Psalm 145.6.
Then ‘ happened upon’ this wonderful teaching hymn, while searching for another. Words which echo across history, and which commend the ultimate ‘ mighty work ‘ that our God has done for us, to this present confused and disobedient generation. 
And which Salvation story, needs to be the foundation, and if not it shall always be a ‘ stumbling block ‘, of any plan to change the Values  and Attitudes of both the Jamaican and American people.
For because Christ died for us, and with mighty power, was raised from the dead, so that our sins are Atoned for, and we, who believe,  are assured of Eternal  Life, even in the face of evil and death, we can rejoice. 
And have a grounded ( in the power of The Almighty God)  Hope, that after the ‘ midnight of confusion ‘, will arise one day, a ‘ morning of rejoicing ‘. One fine and glorious day! In America and in Jamaica!.
Which is why this post on Facebook just now happened.

O Lord my God, when I in awesome wonder…….
When I think that God, his Son not sparing,
sent him to die – I scarce can take it in:

that on the Cross, my burden gladly bearing, 

he bled and died to take away my sin. 

Then sings my soul, my Saviour God to thee,

how great thou art! How great thou art…
Words to lift our weary souls  on a Saturday morning. For we who love Christ can rejoice whether #DonaldTrump or #HillaryClinton  or whether #NicholasFrancis or #X6murdertrial .
The Hymn
 

O Lord my God, when I in awesome wonder

Consider all the *worlds thy hands have made,

I see the stars, I hear the *rolling thunder,

Thy power throughout the universe displayed:
Refrain
Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to thee:

How great thou art! How great thou art!

Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to thee:

How great thou art! How great thou art!
When through the woods and forest glades I wander

And hear the birds sing sweetly in the trees,

When I look down from lofty mountain grandeur,

And hear the brook and feel the gentle breeze:
Refrain
And when I think that God, his Son not sparing,

Sent him to die, I scarce can take it in,

That on the cross, my burden gladly bearing,

He bled and died to take away my sin.
Refrain
When Christ shall come with shout of acclamation

And take me home, what joy shall fill my heart!

Then *I shall bow in humble adoration,

And there proclaim, My God, how great thou art.

Leave a Reply

