PRESIDENT ELECT DONALD TRUMP  AND A SOVEREIGN GOD

​GM: PRESIDENT ELECT TRUMP, HILLARY CLINTON AND CHRIST THE SOLID ROCK

We had planned to stay up to celebrate with #HillaryClinton. But when things began to go ‘ south’, my wife and I went to bed early.
However, all through the night, Paul’s revelation in 2. Cor. 10, that:
” Though we wage war, our weapons are not of this world……They have divine power to destroy strongholds “, came into my mind as a prayer.
Then this morning we awoke to hear the news that #DonaldTrump had not only won, but won handily.
This is how my soul reacted, as God’s Word and an inspired word came into my heart to comfort and instruct me.
First!
” Seek the Lord while he may be found;

Let the wicked forsake his way and the evil man his thoughts. 

Let  us  turn to the Lord, and he will have mercy on him,

and to our God and he will freely pardon.
For my thoughts are not your thoughts,

neither are your ways my ways….declares the Lord.
As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:6-9
Clearly the Sovereign God, who rules over heaven and earth,  has a plan,  which at this time, we cannot understand, but I am sure will be revealed in due course.
For although many Christians had serious issues with some of the Obama/Clinton policies…..same sex marriage….abortions on demand….and the growing reports of state promoted attacks of religious liberties, the buffonery, bigotry, and plain nastiness of Trump did not allow well thinking people to support him.
Perhaps the hope was that a President Clinton could be convinced that extremism of any sort was not a sustainable option.

Maybe we were naive, but still I could not bring myself to support Trump.
Second!
Praise the Lord , my soul; all my inmost being, praise his holy name.  Praise the Lord , my soul, and forget not all his benefits—  who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases,  who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion,  who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagleʼs.  The Lord works righteousness and justice for all the oppressed.  He made known his ways to Moses, his deeds to the people of Israel:  The Lord is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love.  He will not always accuse, nor will he harbor his anger forever;  he does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities.  For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him;  as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.  As a father has compassion on his children, so the Lord has compassion on those who fear him;  for he knows how we are formed, he remembers that we are dust.  The life of mortals is like grass, they flourish like a flower of the field;  the wind blows over it and it is gone, and its place remembers it no more.  But from everlasting to everlasting the Lord ʼs love is with those who fear him, and his righteousness with their childrenʼs children—  with those who keep his covenant and remember to obey his precepts.

Psalm 103:1‭-‬18 NIV

http://bible.com/111/psa.103.1-18.NIV
As even though many of us are disappointed, we still praise the Lord for He is indeed a good God, with a track record of mercy and grace. And our eyes are not fixed on any political leader, who is today, but gone tomorrow. While our Lord’s compassion is from ‘ Everlasting to Everlasting ‘.

Which brought me to the third and final comfort for my soul; my favourite hymn and anthem.

For to Christ and Christ alone we look for Salvation and not to any leader. In Politics,  Sports, Entertainment or Business.
Edward Mote, 1797-1874
1. My hope is built on nothing less

Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;

I dare not trust the sweetest frame,

But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;

All other ground is sinking sand.
2. When darkness veils His lovely face,

I rest on His unchanging grace;

In every high and stormy gale

My anchor holds within the veil.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;

All other ground is sinking sand.
3. His oath, His covenant, and blood

Support me in the whelming flood;

When every earthly prop gives way,

He then is all my Hope and Stay.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;

All other ground is sinking sand.
4. When He shall come with trumpet sound,

Oh, may I then in Him be found,

Clothed in His righteousness alone,

Faultless to stand before the throne!
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;

All other ground is sinking sand.
Peace

Leave a Reply

