AN EASTER MESSAGE/GIFT

An Easter Gift with love : A Blessed Easter to all.
GN/GM. Quite properly I ought to send this out in the morning.  As an Easter gift!

 But that’s so not going to happen. What with the excitement and rush to celebrate, once again,  this most joyful event!
So kindly accept this gift, sent prematurely, but with the same joy and love. For you who take time out to read. And more importantly, for the Risen Lord. Even Christ our soon coming King!

It’s a gift which captures  the essence of all I have gleaned from reading, and sharing, and praying, and meditating, during our journey together. A walk with God which ends, in a sense…..as the movement is always from the  Cross to the Resurrection then back to the Cross again…..with the glorious Resurrection at Easter.

And the message is the same from the Garden of Eden, back to Gethsemane, viz, it’s all about God. For, as the songwriter penned, ” I can’t  even walk without Him holding our my hand”. 
Even more so, no matter how much we love Jesus The Crucified One, because, as another songwriter penned, ‘ thou didst me upon the cross embrace: for me didst bear the nails and the spear, and manifold disgrace….all for me who was thine enemy’, we cannot truly love our Savior, unless ‘ our sails which we hoist for Him are filled with His Holy Spirit’. The other Comforter!

Therefore we must pray, without ceasing,  not first for suffering humanity, and lost humanity,  and those who we love, and those who persecute us; and that we must do also,  but first, for God to renew His Church, with a fresh outpouring of the Holy Spirit.  So that, completely saturated with His love, to the point of there being,  ‘ no remedy’, through us  may ‘ flow streams of living water’, the promised Holy Spirit,  to rescue this ‘ corrupt generation’, and help to turn people’s hearts from the power of Satan to the power of God. 

So I am encouraging you, to, in addition to your other prayers,  join with me in praying, as I have been led to do for years now,  without ceasing,  the words of the Psalmist: 

” Will thou not turn again and quicken us O Lord, that thy people may rejoice in you.”

Praying  for Moravians, Baptists, Church of God, Pentecostals, Roman Catholics, Seventh Day Adventists  ( and all who keep the Sabbath), Methodists, United Church, Anglicans and all Evangelical churches including Full Gospel, First Born, Open Bible……
Which is really a prayer for a great Revival. In Jamaica and across the Caribbean and the world. But first we have to ‘ hoist our sails’, for Christ and Christ alone. There can be no competition. Not self or family! Not bank account and earnings! Not the pleasures of this life! Not our political party, or leader!  Not our high school – current or past!  Not country! And certainly not denomination, Pastor or Bishop, or even and perhaps especially ‘ church work’. 

 

Then there will no boasting before the Lord. And God will receive all the honor and Glory and power due to Him. The Holy One of Israel. 

Peace.
SATURATED WITH THE SPIRIT
Hilary of Poitiers ( 315 – 368….a Bishop of the early church who was a staunch defender of Doctrine of the Holy Trinity. A foundation doctrine which we now take for granted came  under severe attack in the early years.)
Verse: Acts 20:24. “But I do not countenance my life of any value to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to thd good news of God’s grace”
Hoisting My Sails 

The chief service I owe you, O God, is that every thought and word of mine should speak of you. The power of speech that you have bestowed on me can give me no grater pleasure than to serve you by preaching your gospel.
But in saying this, I am merely expressing what I want to do. If I am actually to use this gift, I must ask you for your help – ask you to fill the sails I have hoisted for you with the wind of your Holy Spirit, inspiring my mind and my voice.
I know that I am often heavy with stupor, so that I am too lazy to speak of you. And I do not spend sufficient time studying your Scriptures, to ensure that my words conform to your Word.
Give me the energy and the courage to to share the spirit of the Apostles, that like them I may truly be an ambassador of your grace.

Saturated in His Love

Although I am dust and ashes, Lord I am tied to you by bonds of love. Therefore I feel I can speak freely to you. 
Before I came to you I was nothing. I did not know the meaning of life, and I had no understanding of myself. I have no doubt that you had a purpose I  causing me to be born; yet you had no need of me, and on my own I was of no use to you.
But then you decided that I should hear the words of your Son, Jesus Christ. And that as I heard his words, you enabled his love to penetrate my heart. Now I am completely saturated in his love and faith, and there is no remedy. Now, Lord, I cannot change my attitude to my faith, I can only die for it.

Leave a Reply

