By the rivers of Babylon

“By the rivers of Babylon we sat and wept when we remembered Zion. There on the poplars we hung our harps, for there our captors asked us for songs, our tormentors demanded songs of joy; they said, “Sing us one of the songs of Zion!” How can we sing the songs of the Lord while in a foreign land? If I forget you, Jerusalem, may my right hand forget its skill. May my tongue cling to the roof of my mouth if I do not remember you, if I do not consider Jerusalem my highest joy.”
‭‭Psalms‬ ‭137‬:‭1‬-‭6‬ ‭NIV‬‬

This morning I find myself in a “strange “ land, far from home in the capital city of Canada. And right there “ on the street where my friend lives” ( from the movie, My Fair Lady) with whom we visited yesterday:

…I found, not only a church, but an Anglican Church.

Then the words of the Psalmist came to me, as I reflected and prayed the first of Jacob Boheme’s Morning Watch:

Living Lord, you have watched over me, and put your hand on my head,, during the long,dark hours of night. Your holy angels have protected me from all harm and pain. To you Lord, I owe life itself. Continue to watch over me and bless me during the hours of day.

And thanked the Lord that anywhere I am, ( from last night’s) meditation by Oswald Chambers) He has promised not to leave me nor forsake me. Glory! Which is what happened during the flight from Kingston to Miami and then to Toronto. And during the long 7 1/2 hour drive from Toronto to Ottawa.

And, praise God, as I turned to find the Psalm above, there nestled in the Word of God in the book of Proverbs, I found this song:

JESUS, THE VERY THOUGHT OF THEE

Bernard of Clairvaux ….wrote about last week.

Verse: Isaiah 26:3

Jesus, the very thought of thee 
with sweetness fills the breast; 
but sweeter far thy face to see, 
and in thy presence rest.

2 O hope of every contrite heart, 
O joy of all the meek, 
to those who fall, how kind thou art! 
How good to those who seek!

3 But what to those who find? Ah, this 
nor tongue nor pen can show; 
the love of Jesus, what it is, 
none but his loved ones know.

4 Jesus, our only joy be thou, 
as thou our prize wilt be; 
Jesus, be thou our glory now, 
and through eternity.

Having reflected upon the words of this wonderful hymn, in context, or as Oswald Chambers recommends “ reading the Word of God in the flesh and blood of life, I turned to Isaiah 26:3.

“You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you.”
‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭26‬:‭3‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Read the entire chapter, which was quite a revelation, but that which I am led to share with you, in context, was another meditation, this time by Oswald Chambers which was found nestled in the page of my Classics Devotional Bible, just below Isaiah 26.

WEDNESDAY ( mercy)

IS YOUR MIND STAYED ON GOD

Verse : Isaiah 26:3

Is your mind stayed on God or is it starved. Starvation of the mind, caused by neglect, is one of the chief sources of exhaustion and weakness in servant’s life. If you have never used your mind to place yourself before God, begin to do it now. There is no reason to wait for God to come to you. You must turn your thoughts and your face away from idols and look to him and be saved ( Isaiah 45:22).

Your mind is the greatest gift God has given you and it ought to be devoted entirely to him. …..When you have thoughts and ideas which are worthy of credit to God, learn to compare and contrast them with all that happens in nature – the rising and setting of the sun, the shinning of the moon and stars, and the changing of the seasons ( even the unusually hot weather in Ottawa yesterday….my words).

You will begin to see that your thoughts are from God as well, and your mind will no longer be at the mercy of your impulsive thinking ( praise the Lord….my words), but will always be used in the service of God.

Remember whose you are and whom you serve.

Encourage yourself to remember, and your affection for God will increase tenfold. Your mind will no longer be starved, but will be quick and enthusiastic, and your hope will be inexpressibly bright.

Lord we beseech thee to renew your church with those whose minds are stayed on you; Lord help us to keep our focus on you, as by ourselves we are so easily distracted, so that we may be able with your help to renew the nation(s) where “ on the streets where people live”, there are so many idols. The most alluring one of which is self, and our wandering and unruly wills. Whether in Ottawa, Kingston or in 34 count New York, or in the minds those who destroy Gaza or commit atrocities in Israel and in Ukraine and Haiti.

In obedience

Shalom

LWJ

Leave a comment